Move a Contact to Another Company or Individual

Updated 11 months ago by Celina Kwan

To complete this procedure, you must have Insert, Modify, and Delete permissions for Address Book entries.

You can move a Contact from one Company or Individual to another Company or Individual. The Contact’s notes, documents, and user-defined fields move with the Contact. Appointments and Hotlist tasks are updated to reflect the new location.

  • You have a number of options when moving a Contact:
  • Change the Contact’s address to the main address of the new Company or Individual.
  • Prefix all of the Contact’s notes with text indicating that the Contact has moved.
  • Maintain the Contact’s association with opportunities and customer service cases.
  • Maintain relationships between the Contact and related entries.
  • Update Favorite Lists containing the Contact to reflect the Contact’s move.
  • Update campaigns to reflect the Contact’s new location.
  • Delete or save the Contact’s entry with the original Company.
  1. In the Address Book page, click on the Contact entry to make it the current entry.
  2. Select Edit > Move Selected Contact.

– or –

Right-click and select Move Selected Contact.

The Select Entry dialog box opens.

  1. Enter the search criteria, and click Search.

  1. Select the Company you want the contact to move to, and click OK.

The Move Selected Contact dialog box opens.

  1. Select the options for the move, and click OK.


How did we do?