User Access Rights and User/Group Access Settings

Updated 2 years ago by Niall Clifford

The following tables describe each of the user access rights and user or group access settings.

If a Read permission is denied (X), then the Insert, Modify, and Delete permissions are automatically disabled. A user cannot have Insert, Modify, or Delete permissions without having Read permission.

Permissions

Permissions

Controls the selected user's or group's right to view, add, change, or remove . . .

Address Book

Entries in the Address Book page

User-defined fields

Values in user-defined fields

User-defined field setup

User-defined field definitions

Notes

Notes attached to entries.

Documents

Documents attached to entries

Mailing Address

Mailing addresses of Address Book entries

Company Library

Files and folders in the Company Library

OrderDesk

Entries in the OrderDesk window.

This access right applies only to earlier versions of Maximizer.

Opportunities

Entries in the Opportunities page

Strategy Library

Strategy Library information for opportunities

Campaigns

Entries in the Campaigns page

Customer Service

Entries in the Customer Service page

Knowledge base

Articles in the Knowledge Base page

User/Group setup

Users and Security Groups

• If the user does not have any User/Group Setup rights, other users' or groups' properties are not accessible.

• If the user has read rights only, the related tabs are visible, but information cannot be modified.

• Insert, Modify, and Delete rights provide the corresponding access rights to all user and group properties.

Accounting

Accounting transactions.

This access right applies only to earlier versions of Maximizer.

Action Plan Library

Action plan templates in the Action Plan Library

Quotas

Entries in the Quotas page

Dashboards

Dashboard entries

Privileges

Privilege

Grants authorization to . . .

Allow Global Edit

Perform global edits of Address Book entries in Maximizer. Consider advising users with this privilege to back up the Address Book before making significant changes with Global Edit.

Allow private entries

Add entries that are not visible to other users. The user can use the Owner, Full Access, or Read Access fields to create private entries or restrict entries to a group or a user.

Allow public entries

Add entries that are visible to all other users in the Address Book.

Note that the Allow private entries and Allow public entries options cannot be denied at the same time. If both of these options are denied in two different groups a user belongs to (i.e., the checkboxes contain an x), the user is granted the Allow private entries right by default.

Allow transfer

Transfer Address Book entries between Maximizer Address Books. If you do not select this option, the menu items for transferring are disabled.

This privilege applies only to earlier versions of Maximizer.

Allow import

Import Address Book entries between Maximizer Address Books or from external applications. If you do not select this option, the commands for importing are disabled.

Allow export

Export Address Book entries between Maximizer Address Books, and export information to Microsoft Excel. If you do not select this option, the commands for exporting are disabled.

Allow sync contacts with external clients

Synchronize Address Book entries using Outlook Integration. However, users can still synchronize calendar appointments or Hotlist tasks without this access right.

Modify system tables

Add, modify, or delete available values (items) of system fields, such as City and Category in Address Book entries.

Modify note properties

Change the values of the date, time, and creator fields in notes.

Modify email templates

Create and modify email templates.

Modify key fields

Create and modify key fields lists from Maximizer.

Modify/delete other owners’ notes

Change and delete other users’ notes. However, to be able to view other users’ private notes, the user must have the “Modify other users’ private entries” privilege enabled.

Modify other users’ private entries

View and modify entries marked as private that belong to other users.

This security privilege will override any other security settings for entries, including any settings based on security groups, so if a user has this privilege enabled, the user has full read and modify access to all entries, regardless of the entry’s Full Access, Read Access, or Owner settings. This security privilege is very powerful and should be granted with caution.

Modify other users’ general information

Change information in the General tabs of the user properties for other users.

Modifying a user’s general information, such as Last Name, First Name, Company, and Phone Number, does not have to be restricted to the MASTER user. In many cases, an administrative assistant or a receptionist can be granted the rights to modify user’s general information without compromising the security of Maximizer. This privilege allows the user to have access to all Maximizer users’ general information without giving them full security rights to the Address Book.

Allow manage currencies

Access the Currency Library in Maximizer, and add, edit, or delete entry currencies

Read audit log

View the audit log for entries.

User’s Roles

User Role

Grants authorization to . . .

Administrator

Log in to Administrator and perform tasks based on the user’s security settings.

Customer Service Manager

Have customer service cases assigned or escalated to the user. It also allows the user to change the value of the Case owner field.

This role also contains all functions of the Customer Service Representative role.

Customer Service Representative

Have customer service cases assigned to the user.

Knowledge Base Approver

Approve Knowledge Base articles. A newly created article is assigned a draft status until it is opened and assigned a different status by an approver.

Sales Manager

Re-assign the Account Manager field to a different user, use territory alignment, and create or modify quota templates.

This role also contains all functions of the Sales Representative role.

Sales Representative

Be assigned to the Account Manager field. A Sales Representative can assign the Account Manager field to other Sales Representatives only if the Account Manager field is already assigned to the user or it is empty and not assigned to another user.

System Table Fields

Items (available values) for the following fields can be added, modified, or deleted for users who are granted the Modify system tables privilege.

Field

Description

Address Book Entry Fields

Mr/Mrs, Position, Salutation, Company, Department, Division, City, St/Prov, Country, Email Description, Phone Description, Do Not Solicit By, Category, Lead Source, and Related Address Book Entry Relationship Type

Phone Fields

Subject and Phone Call Result

Hotlist Task and Appointment Fields

Activity and Priority

Campaign Fields

Traditional Campaign Objective, Traditional Campaign Activity, Traditional Campaign Template Activity Description, Automated Campaign Products/Services, and Automated Campaign Categories

Customer Service Fields

Products/Services, Categories, and Subject

Opportunity Fields

Products/Services, Categories, Objective, and Next Action


How did we do?