Insights - Changing Ownership of a Dashboard

Updated 2 years ago by Elena Yurkova

Changing Ownership of a Dashboard

The owner of a dashboard can transfer ownership to another Designer. Transferring ownership of dashboards can be useful when the original owner leaves your company and you do not want to lose their dashboards.

When you transfer ownership to another user, the dashboard remains a shared dashboard within your Dashboards list and you become a dashboard recipient. As a dashboard recipient, you will be limited to how you can modify the dashboard, as described in Insights - Sharing Dashboards.

To transfer ownership of a dashboard:

  1. In the heading of the dashboard you want to transfer ownership of, click the Share button.
    OR
    In the Dashboards list, select  > Share for the relevant dashboard.
    The Share window is displayed.
  2. Enter the name of the Designer you want to transfer ownership to.
For the users with only viewer rights, the drop down will be disabled (see Anna Berta in the example above).
  1. Select Make Owner from the drop down list.
  2. Click Save. A Warning message is displayed.
  3. Click OK to confirm the transfer of ownership to the user.


How did we do?